Brown Rice

I’ve been looking for a good way to cook brown rice on stove top. I’ve perfected cooking white rice but brown rice not so much. I think I might have found something that works!

Ingredients
2 rice bowls brown rice
2 and 1/4 bowls water

Instructions

1. Measure out brown rice in a pot.

2. Rinse the rice thoroughly.

3. Add water.

4. Bring to a simmer.

5. Cover tightly.

6. Turn the heat to low and cook for 45 minutes.

Notes

1.  My favorite brown rice so far is Massa organic brown rice. I buy it in the bulk section at Rainbows for $1.89/lb. You can also purchase at Marin Farmers Market in San Rafael.

2. The rice has a slight chew to it and is a touch mushy which I surprisingly like. It shouldn’t be wet and pasty.

4. I make 2 rice bowls so that I have leftovers to make things like fried rice.

Leave a Reply

