Ike’s Place

I keep hearing about the rave reviews, long lineups and neighbors wanting them out of the neighborhood due to noise and crowds. Thought today would be the day to try them out.

I called ahead and placed my order for the Paul Ruebens and Manage-a-Trois (everything on it and dutch crunch bread please) at 10am when they opened. I dreaded the long lineups I had read about so hoped this would help. The guy on the other end of the phone said 10:30am pickup.

I didn’t know exactly where the place was. “16th and Market” was all I remembered. I found the first parking spot I could find and proceeded to walk the long way around the block to find the place. If I went the other way I would have been there in half a block!

To my surprise there was only one family waiting outside. Then again it was 10:45am. I picked up my order which included two bags of chips and two lollipops and headed back to the car.

Once home, I decided to weigh these things. What can I say I have time on my hands.

The Manage-a-Trois weighed in at 1 lb 5 oz.

The Paul Ruebens tipped the scale at 1 lb 2 1/4 oz.

I read reviews where you have to eat this right away or else the sauce gets soaked into the bread. Definitely true.

A side shot of the Manage-a-Trois.

The Paul Ruebens seemed to hold up a bit better.

Both sandwiches were satisfying. I would definitely go back again but only if I can get the sandwich as easily as today. I wouldn’t wait the hour or two that some have done.

Total cost was $23.10.

Ike’s Place

3506 16th St
(between Sanchez St & Prosper St)
San Francisco, CA 94114

Leave a Reply

