Pomelo

With my parents in town we headed off to Pomelo which is only  2 blocks from our condo. I must admit I was skeptical since I’m always leery of places that serve Asian or other fusion food.

The place was more or less empty when we arrived. I think we got there when it opened. We got seated right away by the window. The wait staff working there were super friendly.

The menu had a good selection of dishes. From what I could they take cuisines from around the world and put their own spin on it.

We ordered a mix of appetizers to share and main courses. I also ordered a rose and my dad got a German beer.

One of the appetizers was called hania which was crispy greek zucchini cakes served with mint yogurt and cucumber ($7.50). The other was albi which was duck rillettes – house made coarse pâté with porcini and chive, peach-balsamic compote, whole grain mustard and crostini. Both were good.

For the main courses we ordered the havana, sanuki, lanzhou, and pacifica which is a daily fish or seafood special. All portions were very decent size and you are able to switch out the protein for any of the dishes. For example, my mom had the lanzhou which is supposed to come with ahi tuna but she got the grilled skirt steak instead.

When we ordered the waiter saw Emma and immediately asked us if we wanted to bring her a bowl of pasta and grated cheese. We were pleasantly surprised he would acknowledge the needs of the parents like that and provide an option.

We asked if he could include tomatoes which wasn’t a problem. When it came out it was huge! And if I remember correctly only $6.50. I also sampled it and it was good.

The havana was cuban style fried rice with black beans, plantains, chipotles,
ginger and cilantro, served with grilled skirt steak, sautéed onions and cuban avocado salad ($16.50). I sampled Anna’s dish and it was good. Probably my favorite out of all of them.

The sanuki was seafood yakisoba – japanese style stir fried buckwheat noodles
with scallops, prawns, kamaboko fish cake, cabbage, carrots, bean sprouts, shiitake mushrooms, garnished with dried bonito fish flakes, seaweed and pickled ginger ($15).

Although I enjoyed the dish, it wasn’t anything special.

The lanzhou was fresh egg noodles stir fried with ginger, scallion and garlic, grilled skirt steak (substituted out the peppered ahi tuna) and topped with a miso-sesame drizzle. My mom liked this dish overall but she has an aversion to green onion (of which there were a lot) and picked them out. The beef was supposed to be medium rare but was overcooked and was more medium.

I tried the noodles which had a strong ginger flavor to them but good. I did feel the balance between meat, noodle, and veggie could have been better. There was a ton of noodle, decent sized steak but the veggie seemed to be lacking with only the sprouts.

Finally my dad had the pacifica (and enjoyed it) and for the life of me I can’t remember the type of fish it was.

All in all it was an enjoyable meal with friendly warm service. They converted the skeptic in me and I’d come back again.

Pomolo

1793 Church St
(between 30th St & Day St)
San Francisco, CA

Leave a Reply

