Cafe Gloucester

This place has been around forever it seems. It’s supposed to be one of the better HK-style places in Vancouver. I’m guessing Richmond has better? Can anyone tell me where?

We headed to this restaurant after checking out Bright Nights in Stanley Park which was pretty good. There’s a train ride you can book online (or at the site itself but better to book online since it sells out quickly especially times between 5pm-9pm) which also gets you into the petting zoo and farm animals. The farm animal barn has two rooms – one with the animals and this other room that is decorated with Christmas scenes.

I kind of question the set up of one particular scene. It had this little boy kneeling beside a bed praying but reminded me of a scene from a horror film! What do you think?

The cafe was pretty empty when we got there maybe a table or two occupied. We got situated and took a look at the menu. A bit of everything.

I always love the Baked Pork Chop with Fried Rice but since my mum was getting that (meaning I could sample) I decided to get the  Spaghetti Milan. What is that you ask? I didn’t know either until I asked. Ox tongue was the reply. I’ll have one of those please.

Anna got the Baked Pork Chop with Curry over Fried Rice and my brother and Dad got this special to share which consisted of beef tenderloin, giant prawn and Japanese eel. It came with a bowl of clam chowder.

The ox tongue dish was disappointing.  Strips of ox tongue but mainly strips of ham filler mixed in with mushrooms in this sweet tomato sauce. It was topped off with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

The baked pork chop dish was better than any I’ve had in San Francisco. Yum.

The baked pork chop with curry dish was good. I haven’t seen this in other places before (at least not in San Francisco).

I asked my dad and brother how their dish was. They said it was ok. From what I could tell the beef was cooked as they had requested – medium rare.  I don’t think this is a standard dish you’d order in a HK-style cafe? The clam chowder was good according to them.

I liked this place and would come back here next time I’m in town. However, I’d probably stick to my favorites like baked pork chop over fried rice.

Cafe Gloucester

3338 Cambie Street
Vancouver, BC

Cafe Gloucester on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

